2014/15 Timelines

This page outlines changes made to the National stages of the Champion Schools competition for the 2014/15 season.

If you have any questions please get in touch with your Regional Education Officer who's details can be found HERE

National Round One (NR1) is split into two groups, with pre-seeded games as follows:

GROUP 1

GROUP 2

London 1 v Wales 1

London 2 v South West 1

Yorkshire 1 v North West 2

Midlands 1 v North West 3

North West 1 v Cumbria 2

North East 1 v Yorkshire 3

Cumbria 1 v Yorkshire 2

Yorkshire 4 v North West 4

  • Group 1 winners will progress straight to the National quarter-finals (NQ)
  • Group 1 losers will get a second chance by playing the Group 2 winners in National Round Two (NR2)
  • NR2 winners will play G1 winners in the NQ
  • National semi-finals and Finals will follow as normal

This format rewards teams for qualifying higher in their regions by giving higher seeded teams a second chance if they lose in the first round; it reduces the likelihood of one-sided results by better matching teams on their experience and ability, while still maintaining an entry route into the latter stages of the competition for all teams involved.

Additionally by playing round 1 at a neutral venue, the travel is more evenly spread.

ROUND ONE

Group 1

Group 2

1 L1 v W1

5 L2 v SW1

2 Y1 v NW2

6 M1 v NW3

3 NW1 v C2

7 NE1 v Y3

4 C1 v Y2

8 Y4 v NW4

Games pre-seeded and played at neutral venues as follows:

Games 1 and 5 at Maidenhead RU
Games 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 8 TBC

ROUND 2

G1 loser v G2 winner

Drawn from two groups:

  • G1 teams away
  • G2 teams home

QUARTER-FINAL

R2 winner v G1 winner

Open draw hosted by the home team

SEMI-FINAL

Quarter-final winners

Follow-on from quarter-finals at neutral venue - Oulton Raiders/Chorley Panthers

BOYS

Year 7-10

Regional Entries

Submitted by Friday January 16 2015

National Round 1

Year 7 Neutral Venue - Tuesday January 27
Year 8 Neutral Venue - Thursday January 29
Year 9 Neutral Venue - Tuesday February 3
Year 10 Neutral Venue - Thursday February 5

National Round Two

Completed by Friday March 27

National Quarter Finals

Completed by Friday May 1

National Semi Finals

Year 7 & 9 - Tuesday May 19
Year 8 & 10 - Thursday May 21

National Finals

Friday August 21

Year 11

Regional Entries

Submitted by Friday December 5 2014

National Round One

Neutral Venue - Tuesday December 16

National Round Two

Completed by Friday January 30 2015

National Quarter Finals

Completed by Friday February 27

National Semi Finals

Tuesday March 24

National Finals

Year 11 - Tuesday April 28

GIRLS

Year 7-10

Regional Entries

Submitted by Friday March 24 2015

National Festival

Year 7 & 9 - Tuesday May 12
Year 8 & 10 - Thursday May 14

National Finals

Friday August 22

Year 11

Regional Entries

Submitted by Friday February 2015

National Festival Thursday March 19
National Final Year 11 - Tuesday April 28