Club Finder

Find Your Nearest Rugby League Club


Squads named for youth international

2nd of October 2013
Squads named for youth international

Wales and Lions finalise plans for Sunday’s clash.

Both Wales and the English Lions have named their squads ahead of Sunday’s under-18s international match at Taff’s Well RFC, kick-off 1.00pm.

The Lions head to South Wales on the back of a convincing 46-16 win over Scotland last month and head coach Kelvin Lockett will be looking for another impressive display from his side.

Thatto Heath Crusaders (Leon Tatlock/Jamie Tracey) Wath Brow Hornets (Scott Pink/Charlie Tomlinson) Leigh East (Thomas Fletcher/Nicky Ratcliffe) and West Hull (Lennox Green/Alex Rudd) all supply two players to the 20-man travelling party, whilst seven South Wales Scorpions have made it into the hosts 19-man squad.

All the Scorpions have tasted first team action in the Kingstone Press Championship 1 this season so the Lions will have to be at their very best if they are to pick up the win, however, a record of three defeats and a draw from their recent encounters means they will have to make history.

The Wales under-18s side has played a major part the production of players for the full international side with Rhys Evans, Ben Evans and Rhodri Lloyd all progressing through the ranks to book their place in the 2013 World Cup squad.

“It’s always good to see former squad members progress on to senior side honours, that’s what the development programme is all about,” said head coach Dave Clark.

“I’m sure it’ll be an exciting and competitive game on Sunday with both sides looking to get the win.”

Admission to the match costs just £5 for adults and £3 for juniors.

Chris Leyshon (South Wales Scorpions)
Lewis Stockton (Conwy Celts)
Matthew Davies (North Wales Crusaders)
Jordan Howells (South Wales Scorpions)
Kyle Moore (Bradford Bulls)
Courtney Davies (South Wales Scorpions)
Jordan Sheridan (Conwy Celts)
Michael Connor (South Wales Scorpions)
Connor Farrer (South Wales Scorpions)
Osian Philips (South Wales Scorpions)
TJ Collin (South Wales Scorpions)
Bradley Mais (Wigan Warriors)
Rhys Pugsley (Wigan Warriors)
Ollie Vickers (Telford Raiders)
Rhys Finney (South Wales Scorpions)
Rhys Fitzgerald (South Wales Scorpions)
Jac Griffiths (Gwendraeth Valley Raiders)
Steele Boundford (Treharris Phoenix)
Joshua Williams (Gloucestershire All Golds)

Nathan Lawrence (Dewsbury Celtic)
Hershall Ward (Leicester Storm)
Jack Pearce (Derby)
Scott Pink (Wath Brow Hornets)
Declan Tomlinson (East Leeds)
Leon Tatlock (Thatto Heath Crusaders)
Jordan Burns (Kells)
Kristian Tyson (Askam)
Lennox Green (West Hull)
Charlie Hughes (East Leeds)
Thomas Fletcher (Leigh East)
Tom Goffatt (Askam)
Reece Needham (Coventry Bears)
Matthew Henson (Cockermouth)
Nicky Ratcliffe (Leigh East)
Jamie Tracey (Thatto Heath Crusaders)
Alex Rudd (West Hull)
Thomas Whittle (Ince Rose Bridge)
Charlie Tomlinson (Wath Brow Hornets)
Sean Mumberson (Cockermouth)

For more information on the English Lions visit

Related Video